The Veil, Nice Song By Dawud Ali

this is a nice  song about hijab that singed by Dawud Ali, awesome lyrics, that make u think…

They say,
“Oh, poor girl, you’re so beautiful you know
It’s a shame that you cover up your beauty so.”

She just smiles and graciously responds reassuringly,
“This beauty that I have is just one simple part of me.
This body that I have, no stranger has the right to see.
These long clothes, this shawl I wear, ensure my modesty.
Faith is more essential than fashion, wouldn’t you agree?”

This hijab,
This mark of piety,
Is an act of faith, a symbol,
For all the world to see
A simple cloth, to protect her dignity
So lift the veil from your heart
to see the heart of purity

They tell her,
“Girl, don’t you know this is the West and you are free?
You don’t need to be oppressed, ashamed of your femininity.”

She just shakes her head and she speaks so assuredly,
“See the bill-boards and the magazines that line the check-out isles,
with their phony painted faces and their air-brushed smiles?
Well their sheer clothes and low cut gowns they are really not for me.
You call it freedom, I call it anarchy.”

This hijab,
This mark of piety,
Is an act of faith, a symbol,
For all the world to see
A simple cloth, to protect her dignity
So lift the veil from your heart
to see the heart of purity
Lift the veil from your heart
and seek the heart of purity
The Hejab Song.

1 Comment

  1. June 12, 2010 at 3:24 am

    I wore hijab for six years. Very very covered up from head to toe. But after a few years, I realized that I was not really living as a Muslimah, even though I obeyed all of the rules quite well.

    Then last summer I took the scarf off and for a little while it felt strange, the wind and sun in my hair. I still dress modestly except for one thing, the head scarf. I am not a young woman with beautiful tresses to toss. And I am fine with it.

    My feeling is that the hijab should be a personal choice for a woman/girl. I was asked to move to Saudi Arabia a few years ago but I refused to marry this man because I would have had to go there. The enforced dress code of the head scarf would have gotten me in trouble.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

